top of page

Volunteer days 14-18: Kindness Ranch


I was in nature bliss the week I spent in Hartville, Wyoming at Kindness Ranch animal sanctuary. The weather was absolutely crazy; with the first half of my time being sunny and hot and the second half ending in a huge snow storm. But through both temperatures, I was surrounded by hills and forest with spottings of deer, wild turkeys, and antelope. I was given a very comfortable yurt to stay in that was roughly a 30 minute hike over the hills and through the woods to where the dog and cat cabins were located. I happily made that walk every time, although keeping an eye above me in order to see the mountain lion before it attacked me. (Previously there was a thought that one may be in the area, but chance was slim to none)

My volunteering days there were very pleasant as well. In fact, there was not much for me to do besides spending time with the animals! I assisted with the daily cleaning which brought us up to lunch. After lunch we would take the dogs on walks, getting them used to being on a leash because they were not accustomed to that kind of life. Every animal that lives here have been released from animal testing; dogs, cats, horses, pigs, sheep ... they all were lab animals. So I gladly took the role of socializer during my stay, spending lots of time holding the more timid beagles.

Kindness Ranch does adopt out their animals so if you are considering a pet, please consider them!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page