top of page

Vegan eats Portland to Phoenix!

So a story for another day is I got a job working at Born Free Primate Sanctuary in Texas! I am writing this after my 3rd day of work. But my way down here I stopped a few places (Eugene, San Francisco, L.A. and Phoenix) and I would like to share my findings, mostly good of course! My belly was always full and happy :)

First stop: Eugene!

My first stop was at Morning Glory Café for some breakfast. And since I can't ever refuse biscuits and gravy, I of course ordered that. It was simple but very delicious. Not a number 1 on my list but definitely top 5! Before I left I grabbed myself a cinnamon role for breakfast the following morning and boy am I glad I did lol. This place was solid, I wish I had had a chance to try more than I did!

Next I was most excited for because of all the talk I have heard about it up in Portland, Cornbread Café. Now, this place I ate at twice because I wanted to try both breakfast and dinner items. First up was the chicken and waffles. Just like Morning Glory's biscuits and gravy, definitely a top 5 easy although it didn't beat Killingsworth Dynasty in Portland. The burger I had another day, however, was amazing! I was recommended the bacon ranch burger by 2 different employees so I had to get it. My only criticisms would be they could have put more ranch on the burger and the fries needed salt, not sure if they forgot to put some on lol. But that burger I highly recommend! Sadly I was not too good at taking pictures, was too busy eating!

Finally for Eugene I stopped at Viva! Vegetarian Grill on my way out of town. I opted for something easy to eat on the road so I got the chicken fingers and fries that comes with 3 different sauces, 2 of which I decided had to be their cashew cheese sauce and one was a fry sauce. Not the best ever chicken substitute I've had but it was really good, and their homemade sauces were delicious. They sell them bottled separately fyi so definitely get the cashew sauce if you go there!

Next I went to California and my fave spots were in Berkeley and Sacramento

I was really sad I could only go to this place once, The Butcher's Son. There were so many things I wanted to but after great deliberation, I decided on what they called the "Level 8 Vegan": a blt on a bagel with avocado and a big piece of fried chick'n. This meal turned into 2 it was so huge! I was most amazed by the bacon especially which was made with soy and konjac, it was easily the best I have ever had. While we were there a vegan food blogger was there also to try their food. Have to say, I was jealous of their table lol. I wonder how much they ate?

For a little advice, if you go on a weekend make sure you aim for the early side of brunch. Unless you like lines!

Now for Sacramento definitely definitely make your way to Pushkin's Bakery! And for some advice here...call your order in ahead of time. Because just like The Butcher's Son, there will most definitely be a line! They are a completely gluten free (my celiac friend was thrilled!) with a great vegan menu. Baked goods with donuts on the weekend and delicious sandwiches. I tried to go back for something else later in the day but they had run out, so plan ahead!

Now before I left California, I made sure to stop at the Follow Your Heart Café and got some stuff to go to eat during my drive. The food was good, yes, but not amazing. And I was very surprised to find out that their café isn't even vegetarian. I was very disappointed :(

My last stop before arriving in Texas was in Phoenix. I was able to find a place for us (Ebony and Remi) to stay with a fellow vegan who was so kind and welcoming I had a hard time leaving. I never felt so welcome when I was in Portland! She brought me to work the PETA table at the Morrissey show and to a vegan Thanksliving pot luck at a small farm sanctuary. It is also here she introduced me to a vegan restaurant that in the week I was there, I ate at 4 times lolol. This was Green Vegetarian. In our numerous visits I tried: The Big Wac, Wendy's Pickle, a salad with brussel sprouts and tofu, a steak and cheese wrap, and a turkey sandwich that had French fries on it! The last 2 were specials which they are amazing at creating! Here are some pictures, try not to drool...

There was another note worthy spot for good vegan options and that is Scramble. They have good espresso drinks, a tofu scramble breakfast burrito and I got the French toast. Not as good as a full veg spot, but if you happen on it I give it my stamp of approval :)

So that is all for now but I look forward to checking out the vegan food in San Antonio! In the meantime I am the only vegan in who knows how far in the middle of cattle killing culture. I have to drive 45 min to a grocery store with vegan options! Just focusing on learning how to care for primates and trying not to let that drive me crazy!


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page