top of page

Loss of a loved one


To the couple people who actually read my blog (lol) I have sad news to report. Aug 29th just after 2am; my sweet cat, Ivory, passed away.

He apparently had an underlying heart condition that no one could have detected. I was home watching tv when he suddenly threw up then couldn't walk on his back legs. I rushed him to an emergency vet who informed me that a blood clot had dislodged and stuck in his mid-section; cutting off circulation. Unlike if this had been an injury, simple amputation wasn't possible and there was nothing that could be done. His life was top priority and he was suffering. I had to make the decision to allow them to put him down. They allowed me some alone time with him to say goodbye; I wanted to spend hours and I would have. I could see he was too miserable though and I had to look past what I wanted and think about putting him to peace. I sat down on the floor with him and calmed him down enough

so he was cuddled into me. Through the whole process, he never stopped

looking up at me. I couldn't tell if it was because he was afraid and was

looking to me for comfort or if he knew what was about to happen

and he was looking to comfort me and to tell me it was ok. But I do know it was one or the other, picture to my right.

I will always remain 2cats1girl. Ivory was a part of my family and I am so glad I was blessed to have him in my life for so long. He was annoying as hell, waking me up at sunrise every morning lol. But he was so special and I wouldn't change anything. The above picture is him on my lap while driving on my cross country trip. He always just wanted to be with me. I don't know what I believe but I do know that if there is a heaven, he is annoying everyone in it right now. I hope I see him again one day.

Ebony is doing well so far, he seems to be handling it better than me. He always took care of Ivory. Even though they were the same age, he took on the protector role because Ivory was always more like a kitten no matter how old he got lol. My mom said that now he will take care of me. Which I didn't really believe but he has been extra cuddly with me since Ivory passed, so who knows?!

I will not be adopting anytime soon. My priority is making sure Ebony is happy now. Maybe in the future I may get something else like a chinchilla etc etc. But for now it will just be the 2 of us.

As always, I love you all! I am not the best blogger but will be adding blogs with any new vegan or animal related news. Animal rescue is my life, my dream, my goal. "The least I can do is to speak out for those who cannot speak for themselves". If anyone is in Portland sometime, get ahold of me! We will eat, drink and talk about animals :)


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page