top of page

Volunteer Day 13: Wild Animal Sanctuary


Before I left Colorado, I decided to fit in a last minute visit to Wild Animal Sanctuary in Keenesburg and I was absolutely glad that I did! The place was amazing and I saw so many animals I have never seen before (since I don't believe in zoos or circuses).

I spent the first half of the day doing what is shown in the picture here: separating produce. Wild Animal Sanctuary receives donated deliveries of meats and fruits to feed to the animals from Walmart. We separated the tubs into foods for bears and alpacas with the rest being composted. From whole pineapples to blueberries, mangos to apples, there was everything! When the fruit was finished, I unfortunately had to assist with separating meats lol. Being disgusted the entire time but I sucked it up and did the work, knowing that it is very much for a good cause.

When I was finished with these tasks, I was grabbed to go around and help with feedings as well as being given a first hand tour to see the animals close up. (Something you cannot do when you simply come visit). I had so much respect for my tour guide and the rules she implemented. Although she was giving me a perspective only employees get, I was not allowed to take photographs. She explained that the animals who live here have been through horrific things that she wants to keep them as at home as possible; and staring through a camera definitely does not fall under that category. But it reassured me that this establishment is a very good home for these beautiful creatures.


RECENT POSTS:
SEARCH BY TAGS:
No tags yet.
bottom of page